Colour of the Wind


Looks like everybody has sprinted home as from 4:00 pm this afternoon!LOL! No one is in!!

Well who can blame them because many offices are opening up officially on Monday next.

I thank all those who had the courage to voice out their opinions on my last blog.

Below is a song that really is meaningful to me. I guess each animal on earth could think this way even though not being able to talk….why not plants too, if they could think too….

It is the theme song of Pocahontas. This song is looped in my head because of my son Steven, who’s crush is periodical for Walt Disney movies. This means you watch the same movie over and over again till you are sick of it and know all the wordings including the lyrics by heart from the beginning till the end.

Not so long ago it was Pocahontas crush, after it was Peter Pan and for the time being it is the 101 Dalmatians…. you watch till you see black spots on the wall!LOL!

Ok hope you enjoy, especially you Musicman!LOL!

If you want to sing along the lyrics are beneath the you tube box, but I think you better ask Shaina to keep quiet for a minute or two.LOL!


You think I’m an ignorant savage
And you’ve been so many places, I guess
it must be so
But still I cannot see, if the savage one is me
How can
there be so much that tyou don’t know?
You don’t know…

You think you
own whatever land you land on
The earth is just a dead thing you can
claim
But I know every rock and tree and creature
Has a life, has a
spirit, has a name

You think the only people who are people
Are the
people who look and think like you
But if you walk the footsteps of a
stranger
You’ll learn things you never knew you never knew

Have you
ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon
Or ask the grinning bob cat

why he grinned
Can you sing with all the voices of
the mountain
Can you paint with all the colours of the wind
Can you paint
with all the colours of the wind

Come run the hidden pine trails of the
forest
Come taste the sun-sweet berries of the earth
Come roll in all the
riches all around you
And for once never wonder what they’re worth

The
rainstorm and the river are my brothers
The heron and the otter are my
friends
And we are all connected to each other
In a circle in a hoop that
never ends

Have you ever heard the wolf cry to the blue corn moon
Or
let the eagle

tell you where hes been
Can you sing with all the
voices of the mountian
Can you paint with all the colours of the wind
Can
you paint with all the colours of the wind

How high does that sycamore
grow
If you cut it down then you’ll never know
And you’ll never hear the
wolf cry to the blue corn moon
For whether we are white or copper
skinned
We need to sing with all the voices of the mountain
We need to
paint with all the colours of the wind

You can own the earth and
still
All you’ll own is earth until
You can paint with all the colours of
the wind

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Colour of the Wind

  1. Musicman says:

    Well, Isa, after you\’ve blogged that music video I think I may as well pack up my Spaces page. Your choice of music is vastly superior to mine. LOL.Actually I quite like that film, my younger daughter was into it for a while.I think most people over here never bothered going into work today because of the snow and ice. I started singing along with the lyrics but every dog in the street started yowling so I\’ve had to stop unfortunately.Have a great weekend with your family, Isa!

  2. Isabelle says:

    Musicman…. You made me laugh!! And no you are not going anywhere!!LOL!!I bet you have been into the watching same stuff over and over again too huh? I think the military forces has a torture similar to things… or is it the same processed used for brainwashing people?LOL!Yeah I tried to sing too, but I think the basement will not withstand it and the neighbors are not not subtle enough to appreciate my singing.Have a great weekend too!

  3. sweeti's says:

    This is beautiful ISathe respect for the earth and everything on it.we can learn from kids songs isn;tit??awesome lessonTx for sharing and hugs for StevenSMileMJ

  4. Isabelle says:

    Sweeti…. Soooo true! Hugs to you too!

  5. Beth says:

    When my kids were young it was Captain kangaroo. I really got to where I couldn\’t stand that show.

  6. Isabelle says:

    Beth… I don\’t know Captain Kangaroo….but still I her ya!LOL!

  7. DARRIN says:

    AH YES THE LITTLE HURDLES WE ENDURE FOR OUR LOVING KIDS~SPONGE BOB IS STILL STUCK IN MY HEAD FROM MANY YEARS NOW GONE BY~ SEVEN CHILDREN AND A COUPLE THREE DECADES LATER I STILL FEAR OLD "MR. GREEN JEANS"….heehee…enjoyed your insight into the kids & there songs, noise & toys..

  8. Isabelle says:

    Darrin….. Thanks for dropping by and for the invite!. Happy New Year!

  9. Gill. says:

    Awww this made me smile. The film I have to keep watching over and over is Oliver. My little grandaughter maisie who is 2 loves it and she knows every song. She pulls Billy by his ear round the room singing oliver, oliver. She is sooo funny 🙂

  10. Isabelle says:

    Gill….. LOL!! That it too cute!

  11. ₪Μy§TẲfiЄĐ₪ says:

    Hi IsaJust regarding your previous entry.In the northern hemishere there\’s been freezing conditionsWhile here in Australia, we\’ve been having recording breaking heat wavesand droughts.I was recently at our largest rivers and took some photos of where it\’s just…drying up.It\’s a very sad sight to seeBut is is a call to do whatever we can to help ease the strain on our very dear planet earth.I took some photos of the drying river but just need to re-size them.I\’ll come back later and show you.I think the more aware we become..the more we can doAlso…wishing you a fantastic weekend!Garry xoxp.s. My daughter\’s in love with a local kids band here called….The WigglesThey do kids shows and stuff.

  12. ₪Μy§TẲfiЄĐ₪ says:

    p.s. Sory I just deleted my comment and re-posted With less typos :)Garry xox

  13. Isabelle says:

    Garry…. thank you for your comment and yes I would like to see the pictures. Many say cycles but cycle or not we are for sure adding like you said a whole lot of strain.Before it is too late something needs to be done!! Humans are curing disease and playing with genetic why the help can\’t they all put their brains together to admit something bad is coming up and do something about it and for once not let money blind them??

  14. freckles says:

    how Fab !!have a great weekend !!! ~x~

  15. Isabelle says:

    Gail…… Thank you!:O) Have a great weekend too!

  16. Romeo says:

    God\’s blessings are such a bliss,With every morning I felt this,Life is such a beautiful wish,Like a glowing moon without blemish.The sky twinkled with the stars so bright,Nature seemed so very right.The light of day and peace of night,Made the world a wonderful sight.Far and across where ever I see,Its was God\’s bounty, a stunning ecstasy!He made this world so perfectly,With everything right where it meant to be.Then shouldn’t we protect all of these?Because God made it for you and me.have a lovely weekendlots of love Robert xxx

  17. Isabelle says:

    Robert… that was beautiful!! Thanks! Hugs, Isa

  18. charming says:

    Hi IsaIts remind me of Red Indian Chief Seattle\’s letter written to then American President.http://members.virtualtourist.com/m/tt/3b708/And I can understand Steve\’s crush because my bro and sis used to sing their favorite rhymes together till i get head ache and can recite by heart :)Have a beautiful dayCha

  19. Isabelle says:

    Cha….. Thank you so much for your comment and the link!! I think some lines were borrowed from this letter!! I have to blog it!!!! Take care, Isa

  20. Unknown says:

    The movie Pocahontas is a good one to explain tolerance and diversity to young people and maybe even give a more accurate history lesson too. I can\’t help but remember Meeko and Flit, crazy little guys, but they added so much to the movie too. The song "Colors of the Wind" is probably more memorable than the movie, but the messages behind the story involving ethno-centricism, ecology and diversity is important to teach. No wonder it won an Oscar. Cheers to Disney for giving us yet another great movie!

  21. Isabelle says:

    Seth…. Meeko the mischievous and Flit the thinking one!! Both to cute!! Ah yes the Oscar! I do nope that Disney gave away a big chunk of the money made for environmental preservation….they did?

Leave a comment